search-icon

6 “Grown-Up” Reads to Enjoy if You Loved These Childhood Books

by  | December 19

Every bookworm remembers that first novel that caught their heart. Over and over again, we’d return to that story and others, cracking the spines and turning the pages. We’d stay up late at night, reading under the blankets with a flashlight, accompanied only by the illuminated words and our imagination. The stories we fell in love with as children set the foundation for our love of literature today. But just because we’re older now does not mean our appreciation for those books has to fade. We all have to grow up eventually, but our favorite books can fuel us forever. So whether you’ve outgrown your favorite childhood novels, or simply read them so many times you’ve basically memorized them, here are 6 “grown-up” books that will evoke similar lasting feelings in you.

The Modern Faerie Tales

The Modern Faerie Tales

by Holly Black

The Spiderwick Chronicles:

The Spiderwick Chronicles were, by far, my most cherished series as a child. With each book, my obsession with fairies and woodland creatures only deepened, leaving a sprite-sized hole in my heart when the series was completed. Luckily, Holly Black grew along with her readers and published The Modern Faerie Tales for a slightly older, YA audience. The Modern Faerie Tales is a bind-up of a books trilogy: Tithe, Valiant, and Ironside. In a dangerous, enchanted realm where mortals intermingle with faeries from two rival kingdoms, teenage heroines Kaye and Valerie quickly learn that nothing is as it seems. If you’re a sucker for gritty fantasy, and can’t seem to kick the fairy-tale story lines, The Modern Faerie Tales is the perfect compilation for you

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
The Burning Wire

The Burning Wire

by Jeffery Deaver

Nancy Drew:

In my younger years, Nancy Drew was the epitome of a powerful female character. All I wanted to do was pull on a detective hat, flip open a notebook, and follow in her footsteps, though reading her stories was the next best thing. If you were a mystery-loving, puzzle-solving bookworm like me, then I suggest you check out Jeffery Deaver’s Lincoln Rhyme series, a dark turn from the lighthearted Nancy Drew mysteries. Now 14 books strong, these mystery and crime stories revolve around the investigations of Lincoln Rhyme, a quadriplegic detective and forensic criminologist, and NYPD officer Amelia Sachs, who first team up in The Bone Collector (yep, like the movie). The Burning Wire, one particularly memorable installment of the series, finds Rhyme, Sachs, and others on the hunt for a killer who uses electricity to stage explosions and terrorize New York City. It’s high-octane reading. And just like Nancy Drew, the Lincoln Rhyme series is headed to TV—the show Lincoln Rhyme: Hunt for the Bone Collector debuts in January on NBC.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
A Darker Shade of Magic

A Darker Shade of Magic

by V. E. Schwab

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe:

The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe was a classic childhood favorite of mine. The thought of escaping life into a fantastical land just beyond my closet walls was truly an imaginative experience. Luckily, crossing magical dimensions is a theme in adulthood reads too. A Darker Shade of Magic is the first story in a trilogy that follows Kell, the last Antari, magicians with the rare ability to travel between the parallel dimensions of London. When dark magic surfaces and the various worlds of London are put in jeopardy, Kell needs to protect the worlds, while also saving himself.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logo
Where to Begin

Where to Begin

by Cleo Wade

Where the Sidewalk Ends:

If your literary-obsessed childhood-self had a soft spot for poetry, Shel Silverstein was probably your go-to. Where the Sidewalk Ends is a classic compilation of goofy, yet profound poems. Keep your love for poetry alive with Cleo Wade’s newest book, Where to Begin. In this inspiring collection, Cleo Wade combines heartfelt poetry, prose, and mantras to help readers harness their inner strength and enact positive change in the world.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
Confessions of a Prairie Bitch

Confessions of a Prairie Bitch

by Alison Arngrim

Little House on the Prairie:

As a child I was steadfastly intrigued by the quiet, simple life of an 1800s prairie girl. (Were you not?) In fact, the Little House on the Prairie series still sits atop my overflowing bookshelf. After all these years, I can’t seem to give it up. Luckily, fellow readers still curious about log cabins and covered wagons don’t have to give up their obsession either. Confessions of a Prairie Bitch is actress Alison Arngrim’s humorous memoir about growing up as Nellie Oleson on the hit TV show Little House on the Prairie. This behind-the-scenes look at the televised rendition of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s series is a must-read for fans of her classic books.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logo
The Rules of Magic

The Rules of Magic

by Alice Hoffman

The Witches:

Roald Dahl was another all-time favorite author of my childhood years—especially his book The Witches. (Can you see my magical fantasy trend?) The child-hating witches secretly hidden among society perversely gave me hope that magic really did exist in this world. Fortunately, I was able to graduate on to even more books with fantasy elements, such as The Rules of Magic by Alice Hoffman. In this novel, an ancestor of the Owens family is charged with witchery for loving the wrong man—cursing her entire linage to come. Hundreds of years later, the Owens sisters are gifted with magic powers, but cursed with painful love. This backstory to the memorable aunts in Practical Magic brings with it an honest message of being true to oneself—with a twist of exciting magic.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo

Photo Credit // Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Categories // Bookish Lists

Tagged //

Love to get lit... erary? Sign up to get the latest delivered to your inbox!