search-icon

8 Books to Read if You Love Game of Thrones

by  | February 6
Game of Thrones Books

Winter is here, and so is the official Game of Thrones Season 8 release date (April 14, 2019). Considering this is actually our second full winter since we last saw new episodes of GoT on our screens, we’re ready to see our favorites come back to life and find out how their stories end. While you’re re-watching the series in preparation for Season 8, make sure to check out these awesome books to fill that void in your life that can only be satiated by dragons, dueling queens, and questionable life-and-death decisions.

 

photo: Macall B. Polay/courtesy of HBO

The Lost Queen

The Lost Queen

by Signe Pike

In this first novel of a trilogy, Pike takes us to the breathtaking backdrop of seventh-century Scotland, where Languoreth, the sister of Merlin, battles against new Christian forces to maintain the old ways of her people. This book is amazing and passionate, and proves that it’s never too late for a lost legend to take her rightful place as Queen.

Read an excerpt of The Lost Queen here!

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoSimon & Shuster logo
The Queen of the Tearling

The Queen of the Tearling

by Erika Johansen

Much like the Mother of Dragons, Princess Kelsea Raleigh Glynn is raised in exile. Kelsea, bookish and insecure, is compelled by duty to retake the throne her mother lost—and is guided by magic to find her destiny, and herself, in the process. One extremely relatable princess Kelsea struggles with being a young woman in the world, along with her quest for the throne, and her story is completely captivating.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logo
Outlander

Outlander

by DIANA GABALDON

Feed your HBO fandom and your love for steamy period romances with the first book from Gabaldon’s Outlander series (also adapted into a TV series on Starz). Claire is a former nurse just back from the war, and as she’s reuniting with her husband, she somehow time travels back to eighteenth-century war-torn Scotland. In this book, packed with blood, war, and sex, Claire tries to reconcile the woman she was in the future with the woman the past dictates she will become.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logo
American Gods

American Gods

by Neil Gaiman

Another successful TV adaptation, Neil Gaiman’s American Gods tells the story of a man named Shadow whose wife mysteriously dies just before he’s released from prison. Shadow journeys across the country with a man who claims to be a war refugee, a god, and a former king. A finely detailed, thought-provoking read, American Gods examines the relationships between gods and humankind, and how humans create their own world to deal with what exists.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logo
Strange Fire

Strange Fire

by Tommy Wallach

Brothers Clive and Clover are sons of a Descendent minister, who preaches that the Lord sent his daughter to Earth to bring fire and destruction. Wallach expertly creates a fantasy world with rich and real characters who have to discover the truth of their world, and some difficult truths about themselves. An incredibly compelling read, Strange Fire is sure to intrigue readers who are looking for conspiracy, fantastical religions, and real human emotion.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoSimon & Shuster logo
The Young Lion

The Young Lion

by Blanche D'alpuget

If you’re desperately missing The Young Wolf, aka Robb Stark and the first King in the North, try picking up Blanche d’Alpuget’s The Young Lion. The first in a series, The Young Lion details the story of the House of Plantagenet, a royal family in England. The book follows multiple relationships and characters, as well as their many romances—most of which are forbidden.

Barnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoGoogle Play logoiBooks logoKobo logoSimon & Shuster logoKindle logo
The King Arthur Trilogy Book One: Dragon's Child

The King Arthur Trilogy Book One: Dragon's Child

by M. K. Hume

The Legend of King Arthur is surely one of our most beloved, and has been retold in many, many different forms. Hume’s introduction to the King Arthur legend, Dragon’s Child, sticks to the complex world in which the original legend was born, and is as dedicated to the historical details as it is to creating an epic, if dark, fantasy world that brings familiar characters into a new light.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoSimon & Shuster logo
The Eyes of the Dragon

The Eyes of the Dragon

by Stephen King

Set in the Kingdom of Delain, Stephen King succeeds at creating a dark epic fantasy that’s as detailed and terrifying as any of his famous horror novels. It’s magical and exciting, and explores the complicated, emotional family dynamics between a father and his two sons as they fight dark magic and work together to find their place in a difficult world. Plus, dragons make any story worth reading.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoSimon & Shuster logo
Love to get lit... erary? Sign up to get the latest delivered to your inbox!
Carrie is a Digital Marketing Associate at Simon & Schuster. She loves character-driven literary fiction with a strong voice, as well as memoirs and social science. When she’s not reading, you can find her at kickboxing, the beach, or hanging with her best dog pal, Buddy.