search-icon

5 Books to Read if You Love Watching CBS Shows

by | December 17

For those of us who hate waiting for a new episode from our favorite CBS TV series to come out, never fear! Whenever there’s a gap between episodes, there’s always a great book to read out there, with either similar themes as the TV show or with characters from the TV series itself.

From comedies, dramas, and mysteries, to fantasies, action shows, and family epics, here are some great reads to pair with a few of your favorite CBS shows.

The Rosie Project

The Rosie Project

by Graeme Simsion

If you can’t get over the love story between geniuses Sheldon and Amy, then you’ll fall for the oddly charming Don Tillman. Don is a brilliant genetics professor, but he’s socially inept when it comes to friendships and other relationships, especially romantic love. When Don decides to turn the art of finding true love into a science project, Rosie seems to miss all the qualifications on his list, except that Don cannot help aiding her with a special project of her very own.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logo
The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 3/4

The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 3/4

by Sue Townsend

After watching Sheldon in the original TV show, I didn’t know how much this prequel series would appeal to me. However, there is something both innocent, slightly heartbreaking, and hilarious about watching nine-year-old Sheldon grow up in East Texas. Sue Townsend’s novel focuses on Adrian Mole, a boy who believes himself to be an intellectual. Written in diary style, Adrian Mole recounts naively, but with a lot of confidence, a misinterpretation of his life experience.

Amazon logoAudible logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoGoogle Play logoiBooks logoIndiebound logo
Mother Daughter Me

Mother Daughter Me

by Katie Hafner

On the show, Christy comically struggles to reconnect with her mother, Bonnie, and her daughter, Violet, after years of alcoholism and a lifetime of unresolved emotions between all of them. In Katie Hafner’s memoir, she describes her childhood growing up in a house torn apart by divorce and her alcoholic mother. Throughout the story, she attempts to reconnect with her mother, Helen, as well as reconcile their individual fraught childhoods.

Amazon logoAudible logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoGoogle Play logoiBooks logoIndiebound logo
Dead Man's Land

Dead Man's Land

by Robert Ryan

For those of us who love Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes, the reworking of Dr. Joan Watson’s character on Elementary was a welcome and refreshing surprise. If you love this new narrative focus on Doctor Watson, then you’ll love the Doctor Watson thriller, Dead Man’s Land, set during World War I in the Flanders Fields. A murder to be solved, and only Dr. John Watson can do it.

Amazon logoAudible logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoGoogle Play logoiBooks logoIndiebound logo
Star Trek: Discovery: Desperate Hours

Star Trek: Discovery: Desperate Hours

by David Mack

If you loved the original Star Trek series, and couldn’t get enough of J. J. Abrams’ reboot films, Star Trek Discovery is the perfect prequel. Especially since this book series is set ten years before the original show, when the united Klingon houses are at war with the United Federation of Planets. In both the TV and book series, follow Lieutenant Michael Burnham, a human woman raised among Vulcans, when she is promoted to acting first officer of the USS Discovery.

Amazon logoAudible logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoGoogle Play logoiBooks logoIndiebound logo
Love to get lit... erary? Sign up to get the latest delivered to your inbox!
Estefania Acquaviva is currently an MFA-Fiction student at Columbia University. She recently graduated from Villanova University with a bachelor’s degree in English and Spanish Literature, with minors in Creative Writing and Business. Although she was born in Quito, Ecuador, she moved to the United States when she was in second grade. Away from her home country, she began to write stories to blend her Spanish and English lingo. Though she left Ecuador at a relatively early age, she never stopped loving the culture of her roots. The more she read, the more she wanted to share her own writing, book reviews, and book suggestions. You can find more of her work at www.estefania-acquaviva.com.