search-icon

11 Delightful Rom-Com Reads for Younger Fans (While We Wait for Season 7)

by  | September 8
Liza Miller staring at Charles Brooks

Do you love all the drama and comedy of TV Land’s Younger series? Are you waiting impatiently for the seventh season and the recently announced spinoff series starring Hilary Duff? Do you need something new to read? Of course you do! If you’re a Younger fan, check out these eleven books about second chapters in life, mistaken identity, love, and the search to find yourself. They make the perfect additions to your TBR list and four of these books are directly related to the show, including Pauline Brooks’ and Charles Brooks’ novels. Enjoy diving into these books that we’re sure Empirical Press wishes they’d published!

Younger

Younger

by Pamela Redmond

In case you didn’t already know, the Younger TV series is, fittingly, based off of a novel! Just like the show, this is a story of inspiration and transformation for every woman who’s tried to change her life by changing herself.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
Older

Older

by Pamela Redmond

In this hotly anticipated sequel to the beloved Younger, Liza Miller is torn between two cities and two hearts when her bestselling novel is picked up by a major television network. If you’ve already rewatched seasons 1-6 this summer, this is your perfect next read, complete with all of the romance, comedy, and publishing shenanigans you’ve come to love from the TV series.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
Marriage Vacation

Marriage Vacation

by Pauline Brooks

In season four, the editors at Empirical Press are shocked and deeply moved when they read Marriage Vacationan autobiographical novel by the publisher’s estranged wife, Pauline Turner Brooks. Knowing the book will cause a sensation, they decide they must publish it. Now you can read what the hype is about—including page 58 that had everyone buzzing (...and blushing).

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
The Miseducation of Henry Cane

The Miseducation of Henry Cane

by Charles Brooks

The Miseducation of Henry Cane is another novel featured in the show that reveals a different side of one of your favorite characters. Empirical Press CEO Charles Brooks’ novel is a stunning coming-of-age story about one young man's eye-opening sexual awakening at the hands of an intriguing older woman.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
The Naked Truth

The Naked Truth

by Leslie Morgan

Here's a memoir we’re sure Liza would love. Newly divorced and determined to reclaim her life, Leslie Morgan, bestselling author of Crazy Love and Mommy Wars, decided to spend a year searching for five new lovers in this “steamy, liberating tale of self-exploration and self-love” (Kirkus Reviews).

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
Mrs. Fletcher (Media Tie-In)

Mrs. Fletcher (Media Tie-In)

by Tom Perrotta

“Light, zingy, and laugh-out-loud funny” (People), this New York Times bestselling novel is about sex, love, and identity as seen through the eyes of a middle-aged woman and her college freshman son. This book is also now a series on HBO, meaning it will give you something new to binge when you’re finished!

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
The Roxy Letters

The Roxy Letters

by Mary Pauline Lowry

Meet Roxy. For fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Bridget Jones’s Diary comes “just the kind of comic novel we need right now” (The Washington Post) about an Austin artist trying to figure out her life one letter to her ex-boyfriend at a time. This is the perfect millennial story.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
When Life Gives You Lululemons

When Life Gives You Lululemons

by Lauren Weisberger

Of course, The Devil Wears Prada is the original assistant-in-publishing story. Now, in this companion novel, “The Devil Wears Prada’s Emily Charlton gets the spin-off she deserves” (Cosmopolitan) when she teams up with two other women to bring a bad man down in the tiny suburb of Greenwich, Connecticut.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
The Accidental Beauty Queen

The Accidental Beauty Queen

by Teri Wilson

In this charming romantic comedy perfect for fans of Meg Cabot and Sophie Kinsella, critically acclaimed author Teri Wilson shows us that sometimes being pushed out of your comfort zone leads you to the ultimate prize. This is the story of Charlotte Gorman, an introverted elementary school librarian who takes her twin sister’s place in a beauty pageant, finding herself woefully unprepared for the world of glitz and glamour.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
Playing with Matches

Playing with Matches

by Hannah Orenstein

In the tradition of Jennifer Weiner's Good in Bed and Camille Perri's The Assistants comes a funny and smart comedy about a young matchmaker balancing her messy personal life and the demands of her eccentric clients. It’s an addictive story about dating in today’s swipe-heavy society, and a young woman trying to find her own place in the world.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

by Amy E. Reichert

You’ve Got Mail meets How to Eat a Cupcake in this delightful novel about a talented chef and the food critic who brings down her restaurant—whose chance meeting turns into a delectable romance of mistaken identities.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
Love to get lit... erary? Sign up to get the latest delivered to your inbox!