search-icon

Escape with These 4 Breathtakingly Beautiful European Books

by  | February 28
Eiffel Tower in Paris, France | Escape with These 4 Breathtakingly Beautiful European Books | Photo by Willian West on Unsplash

There’s nothing like a cold winter day to make one dream of a summer vacation in Europe! While sometimes it’s harder to get away than we’d all like (enter: work schedules, finances, snowstorms…), I’ve found other ways to keep the dream alive!

My winter staycation has been made slightly warmer by these beautiful books set in various European cities. If you’re feeling any sort of seasonal sadness and are longing to book a flight somewhere soon, these gorgeous books are for you!

Looking for even more books to transport you? Check out “4 Books to Turn Your Staycation into a BookCation!”

The Light Over London

The Light Over London

by Julia Kelly

Travel to London (BABY)!

The cover has a beautiful shot of London with a bright, blue, sunny sky—something that we all could use more of this time of year!

If you liked Lilac Girls or The Nightingale, you’ll love The Light Over London! Set in London during World War II, this novel is about remarkable women rising to unprecedented challenges. The dual timelines—one in the present that follows an antiques dealer-in-training, Cara, and another in the 1940s that revolves around a young Gunner Girl, Louise—will have you equally captivated. This one’s for anyone who loves history, romance, or badass women!

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoSimon & Shuster logo
The Ice-Cream Makers

The Ice-Cream Makers

by Ernest van der Kwast

Travel to Italy, the land of gelato, pasta, and vino!

Cold temperatures make me miss warm summer days, and more importantly—ice cream, which makes The Ice-Cream Makers the perfect read to “get away!” The cover depictsa beautiful Tuscan countryside with rolling green hills, as well as distinctive cypress trees which Tuscany is so well known for.

Combining elements of family identity, history, and legacy, this book tells the story of Giovanni Talamini’s desires and duties when he returns to his home in Italy to help run the family business (a proud Northern Italian ice-cream dynasty) he left behind years ago. This one is for all the ice cream aficionados out there—along with a heartwarming tale, you’ll encounter some delicious recipes along the way!

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoSimon & Shuster logo
The Room on Rue Amélie

The Room on Rue Amélie

by Kristin Harmel

Travel to Paris, France—the city of love!

The cover features a striking shot of the Eiffel Tower off in the distance from a European rooftop—a view that I’d love to see right now!

Set in Paris during World War II, the stories of an American woman, a dashing pilot, and a young Jewish girl all collide in this emotional, inspiring, and entrancing novel. For fans of The Alice Network, The Room on Rue Amélie is a period piece that will surprise you!

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoSimon & Shuster logo
The Hundred-Foot Journey

The Hundred-Foot Journey

by Richard C. Morais

Also set in France (because I can’t get enough of it!) is The Hundred Foot Journey!

If you’ve read other Get Lit posts by me, you’ll know that I am very much a foodie, and the cover of The Hundred-Foot Journey features two things that I love—a picturesque French setting and mango!

Described as “Slumdog Millionaire meets Ratatouille” (The New York Times Book Review), this novel isall about family, nationality, and good food! Transport your senses out of your wintertime rut with this delicious read, which ties together the regions of India and France in fresh and delectable ways.

BONUS: You can watch an adaptation of this stunning book featuring Helen Mirren, Om Puri, and Manish Dayal!

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoSimon & Shuster logo
Love to get lit... erary? Sign up to get the latest delivered to your inbox!
Sheena works on the Corporate Digital Marketing team at Simon & Schuster. She loves traveling and always has a handful of books in her carry-on. Her favorite books to read are those set in different countries. When she’s not reading, you can find her binge-watching The Office or in the kitchen baking and decorating cakes.