Everything We Know About The Rules of Magic, the Practical Magic Prequel TV Series

by  | September 16
Candles and potions in a dark room

It’s about that time of year where we all start gushing over Practical Magic. We hang up our string lights, we make some hot cocoa, and we snuggle up with our fur babies to watch sister witches Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman learn about their family’s curse and develop their knack for witchcraft.

In case you didn’t already know, Variety broke the news that HBO Max is preparing a one-hour drama pilot based on Alice Hoffman’s books Practical Magic, and the prequel, The Rules of Magic. There’s still no news on a release date, so you best believe we’ve been rereading the tales of the Owens family, including Magic Lessons (out October 9), which tells the origin story of the curse!

Here’s the scoop on everything else you need to know about the upcoming TV adaptation:

The plot of the series will be based on the events of Rules of Magic and Practical Magic.

The prequel novel The Rules of Magic takes place in 1960s NYC, following the story of siblings Franny, Jet, and Vincent. Thanks to the Owens family curse, they must follow strict rules (no walking in moonlight, no red shoes, etc.) and they’re forbidden from falling in love. But when they visit their Aunt Isabelle, in a small Massachusetts town, they begin to understand the truth of who they are. Over the years, the siblings grow up and learn how to live with the curse–Franny and Jet become the aunts we know and love from the Practical Magic movie (played by Stockard Channing and Dianne West)–and their brother Vincent’s legacy takes an unexpected turn.

Alice Hoffman has also signed on as one of the executive producers for the show. Read the comments on this twitter thread for some fun ideas on who should play charismatic Vincent!

Melissa Rosenberg has signed on to write and executive produce via Tall Girls Productions. Melissa is also the creator of Jessica Jones, screenwriter for all of the Twilight movies, and writer and executive producer for Dexter.

A writers’ room is being set up for a 10-episode first season. Writers include Dana Baratta, who also wrote for Dawson’s Creek and Jessica Jones.

We’re standing by for more casting and release news. Stay tuned! We’ll update this post with any new information we learn.

In the meantime, check out all of Alice Hoffman’s backlist for equally delightful, magical vibes that will soothe your soul.

The Rules of Magic

The Rules of Magic

by Alice Hoffman

For the Owens family, love is a curse that began in 1620, when Maria Owens was charged with witchery for loving the wrong man.

Hundreds of years later, in New York City at the cusp of the sixties, when the whole world is about to change, Susanna Owens knows that her three children are dangerously unique. Difficult Franny, with skin as pale as milk and blood red hair, shy and beautiful Jet, who can read other people’s thoughts, and charismatic Vincent, who began looking for trouble on the day he could walk.

From the start Susanna sets down rules for her children: No walking in the moonlight, no red shoes, no wearing black, no cats, no crows, no candles, no books about magic. And most importantly, never, ever, fall in love. But when her children visit their Aunt Isabelle, in the small Massachusetts town where the Owens family has been blamed for everything that has ever gone wrong, they uncover family secrets and begin to understand the truth of who they are. Yet, the children cannot escape love even if they try, just as they cannot escape the pains of the human heart. The two beautiful sisters will grow up to be the memorable aunts in Practical Magic, while Vincent, their beloved brother, will leave an unexpected legacy.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoBookshop logo
Magic Lessons

Magic Lessons

by Alice Hoffman

In an unforgettable novel that traces a centuries-old curse to its source, beloved author Alice Hoffman unveils the story of Maria Owens, accused of witchcraft in Salem, and matriarch of a line of the amazing Owens women and men featured in Practical Magic and The Rules of Magic.

Where does the story of the Owens bloodline begin? With Maria Owens, in the 1600s, when she’s abandoned in a snowy field in rural England as a baby. Under the care of Hannah Owens, Maria learns about the “Unnamed Arts.” Hannah recognizes that Maria has a gift and she teaches the girl all she knows. It is here that she learns her first important lesson: Always love someone who will love you back.

When Maria is abandoned by the man who has declared his love for her, she follows him to Salem, Massachusetts. Here she invokes the curse that will haunt her family. And it’s here that she learns the rules of magic and the lesson that she will carry with her for the rest of her life. Love is the only thing that matters.

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoBookshop logo

Photo Credit // istock / Maya23K

Categories // Bookish ListsMoviesTV

Tagged //

Love to get lit... erary? Sign up to get the latest delivered to your inbox!