search-icon

5 Thrillers to Read after Watching Lincoln Rhyme: Hunt for the Bone Collector

by  | January 16

NBC’s new series Lincoln Rhyme: Hunt for the Bone Collector knocks stereotypes out of the park, busting classic archetypes with strong main characters who bring fresh perspectives to the screen. Arielle Kebbel kicks butt in her role as NYPD officer Amelia Sachs, using brains and brawn in the field, while her partner, brilliant quadriplegic criminologist Lincoln Rhyme (played by Russell Hornsby), capably directs the investigation—to which he has a personal connection—from home. We love this series because women and differently abled people are not the stars of the show nearly as often as they should be, but in Lincoln Rhyme, there’s no question that Rhyme and Sachs both embody empowerment.

In the era of streaming, a week can feel like a lifetime waiting for the next episode to air on network TV. If you’re thirsty for more stories driven by quests for justice with a hint of revenge, check out this list of thrillers perfect for fans of Lincoln Rhyme.

The Bone Collector

The Bone Collector

by Jeffery Deaver

Consider reading the page-turner that inspired the series to compare notes and settle the timeless readers’ debate of which one did it better. Once known for his brilliant work in the office and on-site, Lincoln Rhyme’s life and body are shattered while trying to solve a crime case he believes will be his last. With no hope of regaining the use of his limbs, Rhyme contemplates suicide until he is approached by old colleagues to coordinate the capture of a diabolical killer terrorizing New York. Deaver’s fast-paced writing style and the unique psychology of his characters make The Bone Collector a fascinating read that sets up both a book and TV series any fan of forensic crime will love.

Amazon logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logo
The Burning Wire

The Burning Wire

by Jeffery Deaver

Spoiler alert! As the 9th book in the Lincoln Rhyme series, The Burning Wire gives audiences a sneak peek at the upcoming action in future episodes. Long-since acclimated to his paralysis, Rhyme begins to learn his limitations may extend to his mind as the strain of being in two places at once catches up to him. Our protagonist finds himself involved in two major investigations at once, which take an enormous toll on his health. In the first, in his own city, there is a killer on the loose who uses the city’s power supply to electrocute his victims beyond recognition. Rhyme teams up with NYPD detective Amelia Sachs to engage in a wild chase for the party responsible for the onslaught of public attacks across the city. At the same time, abroad, Rhyme is brought into a high-profile case within Mexico’s borders in pursuit of a long-time enemy known as the Watchmaker. How much can he manage before he realizes he may be in over his head?

Amazon logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
Her Deadly Secrets

Her Deadly Secrets

by Laura Griffin

Want to keep running with a strong female lead? Pick up Her Deadly Secrets, where fresh-faced and fiercely spirited private investigator Kira Vance finds herself in great danger when a commonplace meeting with her top client ends in an unexpected bloodbath. Much like Amelia in The Bone Collector, Kira is determined to get to the root of the cause and takes it upon herself to hunt for clues in the case, using her wide array of connections in Houston’s legal world and her knowledge of its shadowy players and dark secrets. With each lead in the investigation comes an increasing question of her own safety, and Kira finds she may have to turn to some unsavory characters for help if she wants to solve the case and stay alive.

Amazon logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
Iron Lake (20th Anniversary Edition)

Iron Lake (20th Anniversary Edition)

by William Kent Krueger

Thriller readers looking for their next series to binge should start with this first book in the Cork O’Connor series. Former cop on Chicago’s South Side P.I. O’Connor has recently come to Aurora, Minnesota, to nurse the wounds from a marital meltdown that separated him from his children. Iron Lake takes all the action from the big-city cases to your backyard, where small towns hold big secrets. Follow O’Connor as he tracks a perplexing case involving the murder of the town judge and the disappearance of a young Eagle Scout.

Amazon logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo
The Two Minute Rule

The Two Minute Rule

by Robert Crais

Need more nail-biting suspense? Four minutes as a bank robber cost convicted felon Max Holman an entire decade. He spends his prison sentence focusing on the only thing that still matters to him: reconnecting with his estranged son, an L.A. cop dedicated to protecting the lives of the innocent. Upon his release, Holman learns his son has been gunned down in cold blood just hours before Holman was paroled. Fueled by vengeance, he finds himself in an unlikely partnership with the FBI officer who put him away. The term “justice” takes on a whole new meaning for Holman as the two work together to find his son’s killer and settle the score.

Amazon logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo

Photo Credit // Elizabeth Fisher/NBC

Categories // Bookish ListsTV

Tagged //

Love to get lit... erary? Sign up to get the latest delivered to your inbox!